URL Rewriting via VirtualHost Directive for the Slim PHP Framework

I’ve been using the Slim framework on and off for the past couple of years. I find it to be a nice piece of glue to structure my PHP applications without having to buy into someone else’s entire toolkit. In fact, I use it because it lets me use whatever tools I want and works seamlessly with Composer.

One thing that I find problematic getting a Slim project up and running is the insistence of the documentation that the rewrite to the front controller on Apache be configured in an .htaccess file. This is fine for shared hosting environments, but on applications where I control the server configuration and want to harden my infrastructure by avoiding such pitfalls as putting my server configuration in my document root, I would rather not have to put AllowOverride All anywhere in my Apache configuration files.

So, without further discussion, here is a VirtualHost file that I used to get Slim up an running on Apache with no .htaccess file. This was done for Apache/2.4.7 running on Ubuntu 14.04LTS. It took me several hours to remember how to do this, so hopefully this saves someone else some time in the future.

<VirtualHost *:80>
        ServerName web01.dev.example.com

        ServerAdmin david.cloutman@example.com
        DocumentRoot /var/www/web01.dev.example.com/htdocs

        RewriteEngine Off

        RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
        RewriteRule ^ /index.php [QSA,L]

        ErrorLog ${APACHE_LOG_DIR}/error.log
        CustomLog ${APACHE_LOG_DIR}/access.log combined


        <Directory />
                RewriteEngine On
                RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -s [OR]
                RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -l [OR]
                RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -d
                RewriteRule ^.*$ - [NC,L]
                RewriteRule ^.*$ /index.php [NC,L]
        </Directory>
</VirtualHost>
Leave a Reply

